Other Breakable Things Blog Tour

I’m super excited to be a part of the blog tour for Entangled Teen’s OTHER BREAKABLE THINGS by Kelley York and Rowan Altwood. My daughter’s name is Evelyn so I felt an instant affection for the book’s main character ever before I began reading.

I’ve got a bit about the book and authors, a link to the launch giveaway and then my thoughts on it below.

Other Breakable Things
by Kelley York and Rowan Altwood

According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing.

Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will bring Luc back to her.

Luc Argent has always been intimately acquainted with death. After a car crash got him a second chance at life—via someone else’s transplanted heart—he tried to embrace it. He truly did. But he always knew death could be right around the corner again.

And now it is.

Sick of hospitals and tired of transplants, Luc is ready to let his failing heart give out, ready to give up. A road trip to Oregon—where death with dignity is legal—is his answer. But along for the ride is his best friend, Evelyn.

And she’s not giving up so easily.

A thousand miles, a handful of roadside attractions, and one life-altering kiss later, Evelyn’s fallen, and Luc’s heart is full. But is it enough to save him? Evelyn’s betting her heart, her life, that it can be.

Right down to the thousandth paper crane.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca | Entangled Publishing

Enter to win a Breakable Things prize pack!

AUTHOR INFO:
Kelley York and Rowan Altwood are a wife and wife writing team living in central California with their daughter and way too many cats. Kelley is the author of Hushed, Made of Stars, and Modern Monsters, and Other Breakable Things is Rowan’s debut.

Website | Kelley York Twitter | Rowan Altwood Twitter | Author | Kelley York Goodreads | Rowan Altwood Goodreads

MY THOUGHTS
There’s a lot to love about OTHER BREAKABLE THINGS. As my note above indicates, I instantly fell in love with Evelyn and rooted for her throughout the book. She is such a fierce friend and has very a relatable personality. Luc, and the complicated motivators behind his behavior, were also compellingly written. For me, the strength of this book was definitely the characters and the way they interact with each other.

This is a sad book and it deals with a topic, specifically terminal medical issues and how they affect people, that is difficult even for adults. There is some just gorgeous writing here, but there were also (at least for me) some emotionally low moments and definitely some tears. At times, the tone of some of the writing ran a bit maudlin.

I wasn’t completely sold on the ending. I don’t want to say to much because spoilers, but to me, it kind of felt like the writers were trying to sidestep taking a stand on the book’s key issue.

Overall though, I think OTHER BREAKABLE THINGS was a beautifully written tearjerker perfect for fans of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, Gabrielle Zevin or anyone seeking a YA contemporary book to give them all the feels.